Million Dollar Bill

Middle Brother is an American rock band consisting of songwriters and musicians John J. McCauley III of Deer Tick, Taylor Goldsmith of Dawes, and Matt Vasquez of Delta Spirit. They first came together in 2009, and played their first show at the 2010 SXSW film conference and festival at the Ale House in Austin, Texas, where they performed under the moniker “MG&V” in an unannounced appearance.

When it hits me that she’s gone
I think I’ll run for President
And get my face put on the million dollar bill
So when these rich men that she wants
Show her ways that they can take care of her
I’ll have found a way to be there with her still

oooh, oooh, oooh, oooh, oooh,

When it hits me that shes gone
I’ll think I’ll be an astronaut
Make the moon my home and leave this world behind
So when she steps out to the night and find the light that makes her pretty
She’ll be facing me everytime she shines

oooh, ooooh, ooooh, ooooh, oooh

When it hits me that shes left me alone
When I finally move on with my life

Her goodbye written into stone
And her shadow moving through the night
When it hits me that shes gone
I’ll think I’ll be a movie star
Be the finest man the world has ever seen
The lovers that she has found
Tell her ways they have learned to talk to her
Behind each perfect word is a little bit of me